Reference
Sales tax permit cost, state by state.
What each state charges to open a sales tax permit, under the permit's own name, with the renewal rule and the issuing agency. 18 of the 46 jurisdictions with a sales tax charge no application fee; 15 charge one. Five states have no general sales tax and are listed separately. Every row cites the agency and carries the date it was checked.
| State | Permit name | Fee | Renewal | Issuing agency | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Sales Tax License | No fee | Annual, each November to December, through My Alabama Taxes | Alabama Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Arizona | Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) License | $12 per license, per location | Annual, by January 1; no state renewal fee, city fees vary up to $50 | Arizona Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Arkansas | Sales and Use Tax Permit | TODO(TODO: fee not stated on any DFA page reached) | None stated | Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration | 2026-10-02 |
| California | Seller's Permit | No fee | None stated; CDTFA may require a security deposit | California Department of Tax and Fee Administration | 2026-08-03 |
| Colorado | Sales Tax License | $16, prorated against the two-year cycle | Every two years | Colorado Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| Connecticut | Sales and Use Tax Permit | $100 | Every two years, automatic and at no cost while the account is in good standing | Connecticut Department of Revenue Services | 2026-10-02 |
| District of Columbia | Sales and Use Tax registration (Form FR-500) | No fee stated by the agency(TODO: OTR's page is silent on a fee; not confirmed as $0) | None stated | DC Office of Tax and Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Florida | Certificate of Registration (DR-11) with the Annual Resale Certificate (DR-13) | No fee for online registration; $5 by paper | None; the DR-13 reissues annually | Florida Department of Revenue | 2026-08-10 |
| Georgia | Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Registration | No fee | None | Georgia Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| Hawaii | General Excise Tax (GET) License | $20, one time | None; a closed license requires a new application | Hawaii Department of Taxation | 2026-10-02 |
| Idaho | Seller's Permit | TODO(TODO: no fee stated across the Commission's permit pages; not confirmed as $0) | None stated | Idaho State Tax Commission | 2026-10-02 |
| Illinois | Certificate of Registration (retailers' occupation tax) | No fee | None stated | Illinois Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| Indiana | Registered Retail Merchant Certificate | $25 | Renews automatically while filings are current | Indiana Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| Iowa | Sales and Use Tax Permit | No fee | None; effective until canceled or revoked | Iowa Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Kansas | Retailers' Sales Tax registration | TODO(TODO: no fee line on the CR-16 application; not confirmed as $0) | None stated | Kansas Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Kentucky | Sales and Use Tax Permit | No fee | None | Kentucky Department of Revenue | 2026-08-10 |
| Louisiana | Sales Tax Certificate | TODO(TODO: registration fee not stated on LDR's pages) | The state resale certificate renews annually through LaTAP | Louisiana Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Maine | Sales Tax Registration (retailer certificate) | TODO(TODO: fee not stated on the pages reached; registration runs through the Maine Tax Portal) | None stated | Maine Revenue Services | 2026-10-02 |
| Maryland | Sales and Use Tax License | No fee | None stated | Comptroller of Maryland | 2026-08-27 |
| Massachusetts | Sales and Use Tax Registration (Form ST-1 vendor registration) | No fee | None | Massachusetts Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| Michigan | Sales Tax License | No fee | Renews annually at no charge | Michigan Department of Treasury | 2026-08-27 |
| Minnesota | Sales and Use Tax account (Minnesota Tax ID) | No fee | None | Minnesota Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| Mississippi | Sales Tax Permit | TODO(TODO: fee not stated; out-of-state applicants without a fixed place of business post a bond) | None stated | Mississippi Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Missouri | Sales Tax License | No fee; a bond may be required | None | Missouri Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| Nebraska | Sales and Use Tax Permit | TODO(TODO: fee not stated on the application page) | None; the department says no renewal is required | Nebraska Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Nevada | Sales Tax Permit | $15 per in-state location; $15 minimum with no Nevada location | None stated; a security deposit gates the permit | Nevada Department of Taxation | 2026-09-21 |
| New Jersey | Certificate of Authority for Sales Tax | No fee | None | New Jersey Division of Taxation | 2026-08-09 |
| New Mexico | Business Tax Identification Number (gross receipts tax) | No fee | None stated | New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department | 2026-10-02 |
| New York | Certificate of Authority | No fee | None | New York State Department of Taxation and Finance | 2026-08-03 |
| North Carolina | Certificate of Registration | No fee | None | North Carolina Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| North Dakota | Sales and Use Tax Permit | TODO(TODO: no fee statement in the Commissioner's guideline or permit pages) | None stated | North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner | 2026-10-02 |
| Ohio | Seller's Use Tax License (out-of-state) or Vendor's License (in-state) | No fee for the seller's use license; $50 for the vendor's license | None | Ohio Department of Taxation | 2026-08-09 |
| Oklahoma | Sales Tax Permit | TODO(TODO: the commonly cited fee and three year renewal do not appear in the OTC's current material; neither confirmed) | TODO | Oklahoma Tax Commission | 2026-10-02 |
| Pennsylvania | Sales, Use, and Hotel Occupancy Retail Tax License | No fee | None; only the Promoter License renews annually | Pennsylvania Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| Rhode Island | Sales and Use Tax Permit | $10 per permit, for issuance and renewal | Annual; permits expire June 30 and the renewal application is due by February 1 | Rhode Island Division of Taxation | 2026-10-03 |
| South Carolina | Retail License | $50 per location, non-refundable | None; the license does not expire | South Carolina Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| South Dakota | Sales Tax License | TODO(TODO: no fee statement on the department's sales tax pages) | None stated | South Dakota Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Tennessee | Sales and Use Tax Account (Certificate of Registration) | No fee | None | Tennessee Department of Revenue | 2026-08-27 |
| Texas | Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | No fee; a security bond may be required | None | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | 2026-08-03 |
| Utah | Sales and Use Tax License | No fee | None stated | Utah State Tax Commission | 2026-09-21 |
| Vermont | Sales and Use Tax License (Form BR-400 application) | No fee stated on the BR-400 application(TODO: no explicit no-fee sentence; the application simply carries no fee line) | None stated | Vermont Department of Taxes | 2026-10-02 |
| Virginia | Certificate of Registration (sales tax) | No fee | None | Virginia Department of Taxation | 2026-08-27 |
| Washington | Business License with tax registration (Business Licensing Service) | $50 to open the first location; $0 to add a location | Annual, with a $5 renewal processing fee | Washington Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| West Virginia | Business Registration Certificate | $30 registration tax, with exemptions the application lists | None stated; the certificate is permanent for most businesses | West Virginia Tax Division | 2026-10-02 |
| Wisconsin | Seller's Permit (Business Tax Registration) | $20 initial registration | $10 every two years | Wisconsin Department of Revenue | 2026-10-02 |
| Wyoming | Sales/Use Tax License | TODO(TODO: the vendor application is hosted as a Drive file the fee could not be read from) | None stated | Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Tax Division | 2026-10-02 |
States with no general sales tax
- Alaska. No statewide sales tax; municipal sales taxes are local. Source
- Delaware. No general sales tax; Delaware levies a gross receipts tax on sellers instead. Source
- Montana. No general sales tax. Source
- New Hampshire. No general sales tax; the Department issues no resale or exemption certificates. Source
- Oregon. No general sales or use tax. Source
Using this
Last updated 2026-10-03, the most recent date any row was checked against its agency. Each row has its own anchor: add the two letter state code to the URL. Download the data as CSV. Suggested citation: “Sales Tax Permit Cost by State,” Regcrest LLC, regcrest.com, updated 2026-10-03. Link to this page's URL, with the state's anchor if you are citing one row.
About the provider
Regcrest LLC is a document preparation and filing service based in Allentown, Pennsylvania, founded in 2026. It prepares and files state payroll and sales tax registrations, account closures, and resale certificates on behalf of the businesses that instruct it, and works behind accounting firms, bookkeepers, and payroll providers as well as directly with businesses.
Regcrest LLC is not a CPA firm and not a law firm. It gives no tax or legal advice. It files in all 50 states, and publishes a full page for the 29states it has verified against the agency's own material so far, each one showing the date it was checked. For anything that turns on your specific situation, ask a licensed accountant or attorney.